Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Text Size

Site Search powered by Ajax

Trump: Countries against Jerusalem move are enemies

President went off script during State of the Union speech to say those against his decision are 'enemies' of the US.

US President Donald Trump used his first State of the Union address on Tuesday to describe countries which voted against his move to recognise Jerusalem as the capital of Israel as "enemies of America".

Trump's announcement on December 6, which included a decision to move the US embassy to the Holy City from Tel Aviv, was internationally condemned.

READ MORE: SOTU transcript: Migrants, minorities, foreign policy

Shortly after, the UN General Assembly (UNGA) voted the declaration as "null and void".

According to a copy of Trump's planned address on Tuesday, the US president was expected to say: "Dozens of countries voted in the United Nations General Assembly against America's sovereign right to make this recognition.

"American taxpayers generously send those same countries billions of dollars in aid every year. That is why, tonight, I am asking the Congress to pass legislation to help ensure American foreign-assistance dollars always serve American interests, and only go to America's friends."

When the moment came, however, Trump added: "Not enemies of America". 

The seemingly impromptu remark essentially labelled 128 countries as enemies.

READ MORE” UN Jerusalem resolution: How each country voted

The US typically limits its definition of an "enemy" or adversary to state sponsors of "terror". The State Department lists countries including Iran, North Korea, Sudan and Syria as enemies.

"I am not going to characterise the president’s words," a State Department spokesperson said. The UNGA vote is "a non-binding resolution that does nothing to resolve the Israeli-Palestinian conflict or advance the cause of peace."

While 128 countries voted for the resolution, 35 member states abstained, and seven voted against.

The Trump administration has held receptions in Washington, DC, celebrating those seven countries, including Palau, Nauru and Israel.

The United Kingdom, most of the European Union and Washington's military partners such as Iraq and Afghanistan, were among those who voted in favour of the resolution.

The EU's High Representative Federica Mogherini said the bloc expressed "serious concern" about the move and said Europe remained committed to a two-state solution.

Trump's decision to recognise Jerusalem as the Israeli capital has also sparked protests across the world. 

Unrest over the issue continues in the occupied Palestinian territories today.

The EU and Norway convened on Wednesday an extraordinary session of the International Donor Group for Palestine to "discuss measures to speed up efforts that can underpin a negotiated" solution.

No country currently has its embassy in Jerusalem.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe via RSS or Email:

Tropical Storm Florence to batter U...

Read More

Trump, Pompeo accuse Kerry of 'unde...

Read More

Supreme Court nominee Kavanaugh den...

Read More

Ex-Trump campaign aide Manafort to ...

Read More

Florence: At least seven dead as st...

Read More

Bakersfield shooting: Gunman kills ...

Read More


Thanks to all of our supporters for your generosity and your encouragement of an independent press!

Enter Amount:



Login reminder Forgot login?

Subscribe to MWC News Alert

Email Address

Subscribe in a reader Facebok page Twitter page

Israel pounds Gaza

India's Kerala state devastated

Capturing life under apartheid